Park, Mall, Transport, Train, Airport, Cuisine, Island, Hotel, Tour

Capital of Guatemala

What is the Capital of Guatemala?

The capital city of Guatemala is Guatemala City or Guatemala. Guatemala City is the largest city in the country of Guatemala. The population is about 2,541,581 people with a population density of 4,505 people / km².

Guatemala Country Profile

The following is the Guatemala Country Profile.

  • Full Name : Republic of Guatemala (Republic of Guatemala)
  • Local Name : Republica de Guatemala
  • Form of Government: Presidential Republic
  • Head of State : President Alejandro GIAMMATTEI (since January 14, 2020)
  • Head of Government : President Alejandro GIAMMATTEI (since 14 January 2020)
  • Capital: Guatemala City
  • Total Area : 108,889 km 2
  • Total Population : 17,422,821 people (2021)
  • Population Growth : 1.62% (2021)
  • Birth rate: 22.79 babies per 1000 population
  • Official Language : Spanish
  • Ethnicity: Mestizo (mixed Amerindian and Spanish, also called Ladino ethnicity) and European 60.1%, Mayan 39.3%, other ethnicity 0.6% (2001)
  • Religion: Roman Catholic, Protestant, Mayan religion
  • Independence Day : September 15, 1821 (from Spain)
  • National Day : September 15, 1821 (independence day)
  • National Anthem: “Himno Nacional de Guatemala” (National Anthem of Guatemala)
  • Internet Domain Code : .gt
  • Phone Code : 502
  • Currency : Guatemalan Quetzales (GTQ)
  • Income Per Capita : US$8,400,- (2020)
  • Nominal Gross Domestic Revenue : US$141.5 billion (2020)
  • Location: Continent of North America

Guatemala Administrative Division

Administratively, Guatemala is divided into 22 Departments. The following is a list of the 22 Departments in Guatemala and their Capitals.

1Alta VerapazCoban
2Verapaz . SteelSalamá
5El ProgressoGuastatoya
7GuatemalaGuatemala City
9IzabalPuerto Barrios
14QuicheSanta Cruz del Quiche
16SacatepéquezAntigua Guatemala
17San MarcosSan Marcos
18Santa RosaCuilapa

The Guatemalan system of government is a presidential republican system of government in which the head of state and head of government is the president. The President and Vice President of Guatemala are elected directly by presidential election for a term of 4 years.

In the economic sector, Guatemala, which is the most populous country in Central America, has a Per Capita Income of US$8,400, – while its Gross Domestic Product was US$141.5 billion in 2020. Around 13.5% of Guatemala’s Gross Domestic Product comes from Agriculture sector. Agriculture is also the main source of livelihood for the Guatemalan population (approximately 31%). Agricultural commodities that support the Guatemalan economy include coffee, sugarcane, corn, bananas and beans. More than half of Guatemala’s population lives below the poverty line.

See also  Cheapest Month to go to Bahamas

In foreign relations, Guatemala became a member state of the United Nations on November 21, 1945. Guatemala is also a member country of several international institutions under the United Nations such as FAO, IAEA, ICAO, IFAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, ITU, UNCTAD, UNESCO , UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO and WTO. Guatemala also actively participates in other international organizations such as Union Latina, OPCW, CELAC (Community of Latin American and Caribbean States) and SICA (Central American Integration System).

Capital of Guatemala
Scroll to top