Park, Mall, Transport, Train, Airport, Cuisine, Island, Hotel, Tour

Capital of Nigeria

What is the Capital of Nigeria?

The capital of the State of Nigeria is: Abuja. Abuja is one of the modern capitals of the world, as it was established and became the capital of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in 1991. One of the famous geographical features of the Nigerian capital, Abuja, is the Aso Rock, which is a rock that has been eroded by flowing water. It is about 400 meters high and is also a tourist destination. The Federal Republic of Nigeria consists of 36 territories, including Abuja, the capital of Nigeria. The city of Lagos, which was the former capital of Nigeria and the most densely populated city in Nigeria, is considered one of the most densely populated cities in Africa in general.

The site was chosen for the new capital of Nigeria due to its central location, ease of access, healthy climate, low population density, and availability of land for future expansion. It was the first planned city to be built in Nigeria. Abuja is located 1,180 feet (360 m) above sea level and has a cooler and less humid climate than Lagos. The city’s central district contains the city council, national cultural institutes, and other government-related offices. It also contains the Three Arms District, which includes the Presidential Palace, the National Assembly, the Supreme Court, the National Arboretum, the National Christian Center, the National Mosque, and Millennium Park, the largest park in Abuja; Children’s National Park and Zoo are nearby. Other areas provide housing, shopping facilities and other urban amenities.

Abuja Geography

It is the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), an administrative region in central Nigeria, commonly known as the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja. Abuja was established in 1976, in the north of the confluence of the Niger and Benue rivers, and is bordered by states belonging to Niger from the western and northwestern direction, but from the northeastern direction there is the state of Kaduna, which is Nigerian, while Nasarawa is located in the east and south, and on the southwestern side is the state of Kogi. The capital of Nigeria is in the middle of this region, and it is a newly planned city, as we mentioned, and it is the capital of this region.
The entire area covers 7,315 square kilometers within the savannah region, which has a temperate climate.
Abuja also rises 360 meters above sea level.

See also  Umrah Package From Nigeria

Why is Abuja the capital of Nigeria?

  • Increasing housing and transportation problems in the old capital, and the ensuing social, ethnic and economic problems.
  • The former capital is located within the region of the hot tropical climate, which, along with overcrowding, has caused health problems.
  • The new capital’s strategic location in the center of the country made it a stronger candidate to be the country’s capital and transportation hub.
Capital of Nigeria
Scroll to top