Park, Mall, Transport, Train, Airport, Cuisine, Island, Hotel, Tour

France longest border

Which country does France share the longest land border with? 

It’s a sadistic professor’s question. The surprising answer is Brazil. This is the border that separates French Guiana from the Republic of Brazil.

Guyana – there are those who prefer “Guyana”, but it is not much talked about – is one of France’s overseas circles in South America. In addition to Brazil, it is bordered by Suriname to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. With an area of ​​83,000 square kilometres, it is the largest and least densely populated French province. The capital, Caen, is famous for being the site of a particularly ferocious penal-bath – although prisoners were often confined to nearby Devils Island.

Guyana isn’t just a creepy souvenir from the French colonial era.As an integral part of République, it is one of the “outer regions” of the European Union and the only one on the South American continent. It is a full member of the European Union, and the euro is the current currency.

His outdoor areas are not a federation favorite when he’s in the mood to “inform, not influence.” These are the remnants of the colonial empires of the member states. They sometimes constitute – especially in the French case – a vivid and embarrassing memory of another era.

Other EU territories include the Azores, Madeira (Portugal), the Canary Islands (Spain) and the French islands: Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte and La Reunion, the last two in the Indian Ocean. Then there are the Netherlands Antilles Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius.They are part of the Netherlands, but the status of the outer regions of the union is still “under consideration” because they reject the euro in order to keep the US dollar.

See also  Castles in France

Other than these cases, there are 21 other overseas countries and territories that have a “special” relationship with an EU member state: 12 with the United Kingdom, six with France, two with the Netherlands and one with Denmark: Greenland, whose case is special. Once Greenland became part of the Union, but its inhabitants chose in a referendum to leave it, which happened in 1989. However, they retain Danish citizenship and through this connection the European Union still considers them to be its property.

British possessions – with the exception of the deserted British Antarctic Territory – are all islands of rather modest size, including the Falkland Islands/Malvinas and Saint Helena, where Napoleon died in exile. Like England, they are outside the eurozone.

In addition to those listed above, France’s Overseas Territories also include Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, French Polynesia, and the Wallis and Futuna Islands. They are an “Overseas Community” from the mother country. Instead, New Caledonia (twelve islands in the South Pacific) is a “unique community”… Saint Pierre and Miquelon are in the eurozone, while New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna use the “CFB franc”.

The initials CFP originally stood for – oops – Colonies françaises du Pacifique, while today it means to change the Pacific franc (“the exchange of the Pacific franc”). It is a currency based on the euro. As they say: Plus ça change, plus c’ choose est la même, only now guarantees Europe.

France’s Geographical Borders

France the third largest country in Europe after Russia and Ukraine. The largest in Western Europe. With a total area of ​​approximately 674,843 square kilometers.
France shares borders with eight countries, and the length of its land borders is approximately 2,970 km, and these countries are: Belgium, Luxembourg to the northeast, Germany, Switzerland and Italy to the east, the Principality of Monaco to the southeast, and Andorra and Spain to the southwest.

See also  Average Cost of Hotels in France

The length of its maritime borders 2,693 km.
France borders with Belgium are 650 km. With Luxembourg 73 km from the northeast. With Germany 450 km Switzerland 572 km. Italy 515 km from the east. With Spain 650 km from the southwest. The longest land border of France with neighboring countries. Bringing the total length of the French land border 2970 km.

France longest border
Scroll to top