Construction start 1508 / opening date: 1511
Original name: Koromyslov tower
The Koromyslov Tower is a round corner architectural structure located at the junction of the Pochainsky ravine and the pipes of the Zelensky Congress (the historic street of Nizhny Novgorod). The tower is part of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin, and the external steep slope is its natural protective barrier
The Koromyslov Tower of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin has four tiers. The lower one, which now covered with soil, has several battle windows. Each is located at some distance from the surface of the earth.
On two tiers there are pechuras, which previously housed small-caliber squeaks. In the seventeenth century, a battle platform built on the upper tier – loopholes located there. Additional chambers made in the thickness of the walls that adjoin the tower. The top made with a tent, inside there a wooden staircase.
You can get to the Koromyslov tower in two ways: one entrance is in the wall on the left side of the tower, and the second is on the battleground. If you look at the building from the far side of the ravine, you can see that the tower, which adjacent to the spindle, shaped like a rocker.
The spindle, which stretches between the Koromyslovaya and Taynitskaya towers, is more than two hundred meters long and stands out among all other elements of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin.
The Koromyslov tower built of dark brown bricks. In the 1700s, due to soil erosion, the tower tilted. The danger of collapse eliminated in the middle of the nineteenth century, when the authorities arranged a Zelensky congress here and strengthened the slope of the ravine with soil.
All the Kremlin towers named after the nearby churches, and only Koromyslovaya still has a peculiar name. For this reason, the people have put together several legends about the Koromyslovaya Tower of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin. In 1520, the Tatars laid siege to the city and at night approached its walls in order to seize the Kremlin by cunning.
In the morning one of the women went to fetch water from the Pochaina River. Seeing the Tatars, she entered into a fight with them and scored ten with a yoke, but in the end she hacked to death with a saber. The Tatars then retreated.
Another legend of the Koromyslovaya Tower says that the construction of the Kremlin began with it. In order to strengthen the structure, they decided to put a living person in the foundation, who would be the first to be in this place. It turned out to be a girl with buckets on a yoke, who came to fetch water, and the builders buried her.
Many tourists who come to Nizhny Novgorod interested in when the Kremlin’s Koromyslov Tower built. The city itself founded at the beginning of the twelfth century.
In 1374, wooden defenses began to replace with stone ones. The first laid the Ivanovskaya tower, and Koromyslova built in 1508-1511. In the years 1621-1663, only one copper squeak on wheels used to protect it.
The main feature of this landmark of Nizhny Novgorod that its lower part is completely made of white stone. This the only building that has almost completely retained its original appearance, and therefore considered the best among all the buildings of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin. Today, the premises of the tower equipped for tourists in the summer.
The outer wall made of two materials – brick and white stone, which combined in very interesting patterns. The site, which adjacent to the Koromyslovaya Tower, made of calcareous tuff and has retained its original appearance to this day.
On top of its surface, beams of scaffolding laid in rows, which used by the workers. Closer to the Taynitskaya tower, two more white-stone sections visible in the spindle, which interspersed into the brickwork.
- In the 18th-19th centuries, the tower housed an archive (until 1886), and then various warehouses.
- On the territory of the Kremlin in Nizhny Novgorod, there is a prosecutor’s office, a registry office, an art museum, an eternal flame, an alley of love, several cafes and many other interesting places.
- There is a poetic legend about the Rocker Tower, composed by A.A. Navrotsky, a Russian poet.