Park, Mall, Transport, Train, Airport, Cuisine, Island, Hotel, Tour

Languages of Russia 

What languages ​​do the peoples of Russia speak? Russia acts as a multinational country, where a large number of languages ​​are used and quietly “get along”.

According to the latest research by linguists, about 150 languages ​​are equally used on the territory of modern Russia.

By the way, most of these languages ​​have internal and external features, so many nationalities can understand each other. This makes the Russian language one of the most convenient to use.

Most of the country’s languages ​​belong to one of the four language families

Indo-European. This, in particular, includes the Russian language. The languages ​​of this group in Russia are spoken by about 88% of all residents of the country. At the same time, only 2% are not Slavic languages, but Germanic languages, Armenian, Iranian languages ​​and others.

Altai. This family is represented on the territory of Russia by three groups, namely the Turkic, Mongolian and Tungus-Manchurian. In particular, there are only two peoples who speak the Mongolian language – Kalmyks and Buryats.

Representatives of the Turkic language are the Chuvash, Bashkirs, Yakuts, Tuvans, Khakasses and others. In addition, primordially Turkic peoples (Kazakhs, Kirghiz, Turkmens) live on the territory of Russia.

The Tungus-Manchurian language is spoken by Evenks, Nanais and other nationalities of the country.

The Uralic language family consists of the Finno-Ugric and Samoyedic groups. In particular, it is customary to speak Finnish to Karelians, Vepsians, Izhors, Vods, Komi, etc.

There are only two representatives of the Ugric language – the Khanty and Mansi languages. The Nenets, Enets, and Selkups speak the Samoyedic language.

See also  Language spoken in Canada

The North Caucasian family is a conditional concept. These languages ​​have complex grammar and difficulties in building phonetic forms.

All North Caucasian languages ​​are usually divided into the Nakh-Dagestan and Abkhaz-Adyghe groups.

Also on the territory of the Russian Federation there are languages ​​that are not usually included in any of these families. In particular, these languages ​​are the languages ​​of the peoples who live on the territory of Siberia and the Far East.

For example, the Chukchi-Kamchatka language is spoken by the Chukchi, Koryaks, and the Eskimo-Aleut language is spoken by the Eskimos and Aleuts. The Ket language is common on the banks of the Yenisei, and the Nivkhs on Sakhalin and the Amur.

Please note that despite the fact that there are many languages ​​​​in the country, Russian is rightfully occupied as the official language. It is on it that every people can agree among themselves

Languages of Russia 
Scroll to top