Lazienki Park is the most beautiful park in Warsaw; a nature reserve and one of the most visited attractions in Poland. This is a stunningly well-groomed park in the heart of the capital. It lies on the “Royal Route” linking the Royal Castle in the center with the Wilanów Palace on the southeastern outskirts. The best place to relax the soul and body in the capital. Lazienki Park includes palace buildings, gardens, elegant bridges, sculptures, artificial islands, ponds and relict trees.
How to get to Lazienki Park
Lazienki Park can be reached from the Central Railway Station in 20 minutes by public transport. By car we should be there in 10 minutes. You need to go along the Erozolimskie Alley, through Nowy Svyat, the Three Crosses Square and the Ujazdowskie Alley.
If you are coming by car, you will certainly be interested in parking in the park. Although there are not many of them, it is best to stay on Bagatela Street next to the Belvedere Palace. Both parking lots are paid. On weekends, parking is very difficult to find.
Lazienki Park is located in the central district of Warsaw – Sródmiescie. It is part of the Royal Route, a historic road linking the Old Town with the southern part of the capital. Next to it rise majestic palaces: Royal and Uyazdovsky.
History of the Royal Lazienki Park
Initially, the park was made in the XVII century for a large Polish magnate Stanisław Lubomirski and was decorated in the Baroque style. The park acquired the name “Lazienki” (translated as “baths”) because of the bathing pavilion located here.
In the middle of the 18th century, this park became the property of King Stanisław Augustus, who attracted the royal architect Domenico Merlini for the development of the park. So the park acquired the features of classicism. The most important architectural structure of that time is the palace of King Stanislaus Augustus.
The park was significantly damaged during the Second World War: most of the buildings were burned down, although the palace buildings were preserved. The park was rebuilt within a few years of the end of the war.
Although the German army tried to raze the structures to the ground, but the majestic facades resisted the explosions of shells. After the end of the bloody war, all the buildings were restored and took their original form.
Attractions in The Royal Lazienki Park
There were also many other buildings, sculptures, ponds, gardens and parks. All the buildings erected during the reign of King August Poniatowski were made in the style of classicism. As the King’s Lazienki was the king’s summer residence, he stayed there from late May to September. During this period, he received here representatives of other countries, famous writers and scientists. In 1767, the Belvedere was officially annexed to the Lazienki.
Palace on the island
The main attraction is the Łazienki Palace, built in the XVII century. on an artificial island. It is a beautiful Baroque building rising in the middle of a lake with two bridges.
On the 1st floor there is a ballroom, Solomon’s Room, baths, a chapel, an art gallery and a rotunda decorated with figures of monarchs. On the 2nd floor: king’s apartment, officers’ room, balcony and study.
Myśljvica Palace in Lazienki Park
The Myślwiczki Palace, designed by Dominik Merlini at the request of Stanisław August Poniatowski, is one of the most recognizable buildings in lazienki Park. Initially, it was a house for courtiers, and later it was occupied by Józef Poniatowski. It survived World War II and remained a government building.
It was originally planned to be the residence of Stanisław August in the Royal Lazienki. Here lived the people closest to him. And today it is here that the royal collection of graphics is located. The White House is a place where we can see rare graphic grotesques, floral ornaments with figures of people and animals woven into them – these are the earliest decorations of this type in the interiors of a residence in Poland.
This building is located next to the Western Gate, opposite the monument to Józef Piłsudski. It was built on a hill, right above the cliff. It offers a beautiful view of the surrounding nature.
At the beginning of the XIX century. the Russian government bought this building and used it as an imperial residence for Prince Konstantin Pavlovich. It was completely rebuilt. Its new facade was decorated in the neoclassical style. Today, the Belvedere Palace acts as a venue for diplomatic meetings and solemn ceremonies with the participation of the President of Poland.
The old greenhouse was built in order to place exotic plants in it for the winter. At the same time, this place is connected with culture and art in a special way: the Royal Theater is located here, as well as the Sculpture Gallery of Stanislav August.
The building was built in 1860 to preserve rare varieties of orange trees in winter. The greenhouse was built in the neoclassical style, using eclectic components. Today within its walls there is a picturesque winter garden. There is a restaurant in the north of the building.
On the shore of the lake there is a Roman amphitheater, built at the end of the 18th century. designed by Jan Kamsetzer. Its peculiarity is that the stage and the auditorium are separated from each other by a channel. Thanks to this, during the concerts, it was possible to sail on a boat to admire the actors’ play up close.
There are no performances in the amphitheater today. Next to this building there is a luxurious restaurant, which is one of the most expensive in Warsaw.
A small building was built in the middle of dense trees at some distance from the central buildings of the Royal Lazienka. It was supposed to be a place where its owners could find refuge from everyday troubles and spend time alone with their thoughts. The Hermitage burned down at the beginning of the reign of Stanislaus Augustus, and it was rebuilt according to the project of Domenico Merlini. It ceased to be a place for solitude and began to be used as the residence of close people of Stanisław August. In the XIX century, the Hermitage was expanded and underwent a secondary transformation.
Chopin Monument and Chopin Concertos
This monument was created in 1926 (a few years after the restoration of Poland’s independence). Its author was the outstanding sculptor Vaslav Szymanowski. On this monument, the composer is depicted sitting under a weeping willow, the branches of which are arranged in the shape of a hand above Chopin’s head. All this is made of bronze. In 1940, this monument was completely destroyed by the German Nazis. After the war, it was reconstructed and opened in 1958. Immediately after the restoration of the monument in the summer, Chopin’s concerts take place every Sunday from May to September every Sunday. They are organized by the Society of Frederik Chopin and Stołeczna Estrada.
Walks in the garden complex
It will take at least 2 hours to see the architecture of the Royal Lazienki in Warsaw. Those who like leisurely walks can spend the whole day here. It is best to start your journey from the main entrance, which is located in the western part of the complex.
During the walk, you can admire ducks, swans, nimble squirrels and peacocks, which move freely around the territory of the complex. Most representatives of the park fauna willingly make contact with people.
Best time to visit łazienki park
Lazenki attractive almost at any time of the year. In spring, Łazienki Królewskie are decorated with flowering trees. In summer, green and lush vegetation pleases the eye, and in autumn – bright and incredible colors in their beauty.
However, in winter it is gray and dull. Most of the pavilions are closed to visitors during the cold season.
Lazienki Park Opening Hours
Łazienki Królewskie open throughout the year, without breaks for holidays and weekends. They open their doors to visitors at 06:00 and close at 20:00. Historical buildings are open from 09:00 to 16:00 (Monday is a day off).
Lazienki Park Entrance Fee
Tourists can get inside Lazenok for free. However, entrance to some attractions is paid.
Ticket prices in złoty (zl):
Object to visit Adults Children and students
Lazenkovsky Palace 25
Old greenhouse 20
White house with a museum 6
Myshlevitsky Palace 10
Subscription for visiting pavilions 40
TELEPHONE +48 504 243 783
OFFICIAL WEBSITE http://www.lazienki-krolewskie.pl