Construction start 1495 / opening date: 1499
Architect: Aleviz Fryazin
Original name: Epiphany tower
Throughout its history, the tower has had many names. Initial – Epiphany. Subsequently, she became the Robe of the Robe, Znamenskaya – in honor of the cathedrals that are located on the territory of the Kremlin, and Karetnaya – in honor of the courtyard of the same name. The current name given to the tower in 1658. By his decree, Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich named it after the courtyard of the Trinity Monastery, which was nearby.
The history of the Trinity Tower began in the fifteenth century. It built according to the project of Aleviz Fryazin, a famous architect from Italy. At the end of the seventeenth century, the tower supplemented with a multi-tiered superstructure and decorated with white stone elements. Later, the loopholes of the Trinity Tower were expanded in area to accommodate powerful cannons. This measure was necessary due to the threat of a Swedish invasion.
The Trinity Tower completed the Kremlin wall ensemble. It had a square shape and consisted of five tiers and a platform from which shooting carried out over the gate. It was an important defensive structure on the side of the Neglinnaya River. At the base there were two underground floors with brick walls. The water level in the river artificially raised with the help of dams, so the tower surrounded by water on all sides.
Features of the architecture
The Trinity Tower of the Moscow Kremlin looks like an old six-story building. Two floors are occupied by deep basements, an extensive staircase system allows you to move between the floors of the tower. Outside, the building is decorated with pointed arches and decorative turrets. The tower crowned with a quadrangle with an octagon, on which there an observation deck and an elongated tent. To inspect the Trinity Tower, you need to approach it from the side of the Alexander Garden.
For a long time, the building decorated with a clock, which then replaced with the icon of the Kazan Mother of God. Then the symbol of the Russian Empire appeared on the tower – a double-headed eagle. By the next anniversary of the October Revolution, the government decided to remove the eagle and put a red star in its place, but this was not easy to do.
Dismantling carried out at the top of the tower. In 1937, the red star faded, and the ruby star took its place. Several hundred years ago, the tallest tower in the Kremlin looked more attractive, since its arrow decoratively decorated.
Today, the Kremlin’s Trinity Tower is the base for the location of the Russian Presidential Orchestra. But for this purpose it not always used – for two centuries there a prison building in it. Then the tower became an archive belonging to the ministry of the royal court. All this affected the external appearance of the building – the restoration of the Trinity Tower carried out. The walls and the tent of the tower strengthened, and in the process of carrying out the work, the specialists gained a lot of new knowledge about the history of this architectural monument.
Today in the Moscow Kremlin this building is one of the most beautiful, and millions of tourists pass through its gates.
- The Trinity Tower clock burned down during a fire in 1812 and never restored.
- In 1612, at the Trinity Tower, the boyar government, hiding in the Kremlin with the Poles, surrendered to the militia of Dmitry Donskoy.
- In 1812, Napoleon entered the Kremlin through the Trinity Tower.
- The Trinity Tower is the only one that has a bridge over the moat.